Webb and Malcolm Win

shannons-fast-racing-series-logoBroome’s Blake Webb and Geraldton’s Luke Malcolm have claimed Round 2 of the JSRA Metropolitan Series for their respective divisions at the Perth Motorplex last night.

A quality field of Junior Sedans were on hand for the Shannons Fast Racing Series event, with eleven Top Stars and five New Stars racing the green flag. As we have come to expect from Junior Sedan racing in WA, drivers raced three and four wide, even five wide at some points, which was an absolute spectacle.

With slippery track conditions to start the night, Jackson Derrick would hold on to record the first victory of the night, as did Bryden Southwell in the New Star division. Kalgoorlie’s Jacob Potts would break an axle while moving through turn two, which in turn sent him into the concrete wall. Luckily his team was able to fix the car ahead of the next heat race.

The second heat of the night, would see the hard and fast racing continue throughout the field of Top Stars and New Stars, with Alex Swift quickly taking the lead. Ashley Baker and Brooke Sutton would try chase him down, but had to hold on for second and third. Bryden Southwell would again prove too strong in the New Star field defeating Tia Wormall and Luke Malcolm.

The third and final heat of the night would be a dramatic one with an incident between Alex Swift, Corey Ameduri and Jayke Malcolm causing a yellow light. When the racing got back underway, Jackson Derrick and Blake Webb would race in close proximity for the lead, while Jacob Potts charged through the field. Luke Malcolm would get the upper hand of Bryden Southwell in the New Stars and record his first Metro series victory in his new car.

With a slightly depleted field, the feature for the night got underway, with Blake Webb, Brooke Sutton, Mitchell Bosveld and Jackson Derrick all fighting for the lead. Jackson Derrick would then make contact with a lapped car and would be sent to the rear of the field. Brooke Sutton would continue her charge after Blake Webb, levelling up with Webb on numerous occasions. Jackson Derrick would continue his charge through the field and would finish a narrow third ahead of Mitchell Bosveld at the end of the race, while Blake Webb would record the victory ahead of Brooke Sutton.

Luke Malcolm and Bryden Southwell would have a close battle to the line in the New Star feature, while Tia Wormall and Jade McKeagg looked for a strong finish. When the checkered flag dropped, Malcolm would deliver his first metro series round victory ahead of Bryden Southwell and Tia Wormall.

Attention will now turn to Round 3 of the JSRA Country Super Series, which heads to Albany’s Attwell Park Speedway tonight, with another top quality field of Top and New Stars set to do battle.

Stay tuned to the JSRA Facebook page and website for all live results from Albany.

The JSRA must thank our valued sponsors of the 2016/2017 Season for their support of Junior Sedan Racing in WA:
Hamon Tyre and Exhaust Centre (HTEC)
Whale Plumbing
Callcott and Downey
Hydroblasting Kalgoorlie
Eyerite Signs
True Value Hardware, Moora
Cranecorp Australia
Ultra Tune Malaga
BK Signs
Sean McManus Web Development
Ellement Produce

New Star Junior Sedan Top Three: 2nd Bryden Southwell, 1st Luke Malcolm, 3rd Tia Wormall
New Star Junior Sedan Top Three: 2nd Bryden Southwell, 1st Luke Malcolm, 3rd Tia Wormall
Top Star Junior Sedan Top Three: 2nd Brooke Sutton, 1st Blake Webb, 3rd Jackson Derrick
Top Star Junior Sedan Top Three: 2nd Brooke Sutton, 1st Blake Webb, 3rd Jackson Derrick

Start a Conversation

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *