Month: December 2017

Juniors Impress in Geraldton

jsra-logo-transKalgoorlie racer Dylan Parkes has again won what has to be the feature race of the season so far winning Round 3 of the JSRA Country Super Series at Geraldton City Speedway on Saturday evening.

The event which was proudly supported by Rick and Sara Musarra at CraneCorp Australia, attracted big numbers in both divisions as the series returned back to Geraldton.

The new stars provided some fast-passed racing from the get-go with Kayne Dellar starting his night in the best possible form by storming to a heat 1 victory, Kayne also went undefeated in all 3 heats of the night. Local driver Bradley chant would also record 2 heat wins across the night and another local driver Travis Strelley being the other driver to record a heat race victory.

Kayne Dellar and Bradley Chant would share the front row for the 15-lap feature race, with Kayne Dellar taking victory followed by Bradley Chant and Jhy Pack rounding out the podium. Other drivers to impress on the night were Jasmine Arnold who shows improvement week in week out.

It was clear from heat 1 the top stars meant business, on lap 2 of heat number 1 Joshua Ahearn became the first casualty of the night after slight contact with another car he would find himself upside down, he was ok and returned back to the track for his next heat. Dylan Parkes recorded his first victory of the night, as did local driver Bradley short in round 1 of the heats.

Blake Webb would record his first victory of the night in the second round of the heats as would Blake Fletcher. Brock Reid found himself on his side during the second round of the heats and somehow managed to save the car from rolling to safely land back on his wheels, this, however, would end his night. Nikita Donohoe would also find herself in trouble and had a nasty roll which would see her being taken to the hospital to get checked over. Luke Malcolm would also record a heat win in the final heats as Blake Webb picked up his second win for the evening.

Blake Webb and Luke Malcolm would start the 20-lap feature race from the front row, with cars going 3 and 4 wide into the first corner, with many positions changing as they completed their first lap. The only caution for the race would occur a few laps in when contact was made with a few drivers resulting in Bradley Short spinning to the infield.

The final 5 laps of the race where set to be a cracker with everyone on the edge of their seats as the leading groups came into heavy lapped traffic with Blake Webb racing under Dylan Parkes to take the lead with the pair of them trading places manoeuvring through the lapped cars, as Luke Malcolm, Blake Fletcher and Bryden Southwell would be having their own battle for the minor positions.

In the end Dylan Parkes would narrowly take the win over Blake Webb, as Luke Malcolm rounded out the podium, with Bryden Southwell and Blake Fletcher coming home closely in 4th and 5th.

Official Results
New Stars:
1. W95 Kayne Dellar, 2. W52 Bradley Chant, 3. W96 Jhy Pack, 4. W17 Travis Strelley, 5. W78 Montana Pack, 6. W16 Alicia Short, 7. W26 Jasmine Arnold, 8. W4 Emma Ahearn, 9 W85 Michelle Martin

Top Stars:
1. W23, Dylan Parkes, 2. W108 Blake Webb, 3. W22 Luke Malcolm, 4. W63 Bryden Southwell, 5. W13 Blake Fletcher, 6. W19 Bradley Short, 7. W27 Jackson Derrick, 8. W26 Rory Elsum-Beaumont, 9. W21 Jack Dalton, 10. W195 Lachie Dellar, 11. W9 Mitchell Baker, 12. W343 Tanika Webb, 13. W42 Nui Andrews, 14. W86 Ahryn Curtain, 15. W47 Rohan Thomas, 16. W88 Izzac Delaporte, 17. W119 Joshua Ahearn. DNS W67 Nikita Donohoe, W48 Brock Reid.

Attention now turns to Round 3 of the Metropolitan Series on the 13th of January at the Perth Motorplex. Drivers are reminded to nominate directly to the Motorplex website.

We would like to take this time to thank everyone for a brilliant year so far and on behalf of the JSRA and all its members, we wish everyone a safe Christmas and a Happy New Year.

**Details courtesy of Travis Southwell**

Round 3 Winner Kayne Dellar - Photo by Midwest Speedway Photography
Round 3 New Star Winner –  Kayne Dellar. Photo by Midwest Speedway Photography
Round 3 Top Star Winner - Dylan Parkes. Photo courtesy of Midwest Speedway Photography
Round 3 Top Star Winner – Dylan Parkes. Photo courtesy of Midwest Speedway Photography
Thank you to Rick and Sara Musarra for their ongoing support of the JSRA.
Thank you to Rick and Sara Musarra for their ongoing support of the JSRA.

Juniors Gero Bound

jsra-logo-transRound 3 of the JSRA Country Super Series will hit the track at Geraldton City Speedway this Saturday night for the final time in 2017, with two huge fields of Junior Sedans entered for the event.

This weekend’s racing is proudly supported by our good friends Rick and Sara Musarra at Crane Corp Australia, who once again show their commitment to the JSRA and Junior sedan racing in Western Australia by sponsoring this round of the series.

A good field of 11 New star drivers have entered for this weekend’s event. Kayne Dellar will head into the event as favourite, however the Pack siblings Montana and Jhy, as well as all the other competitors will all be pushing themselves to the top step come feature race.

23 of the best Junior Sedan racers have entered for the Top stars field, with Dylan Parkes heading into this round looking to stay on the top step. Local town heroes Luke Malcolm in his stunning new Mitsubishi Lancer, Bradley Short, Rory Elsum-Beaumont, and Joshua Ahearn will all be looking to take the glory and use their home track knowledge to their advantage come feature race time.

Surprise packet from last meeting Bryden Southwell will be looking for that first feature win of the season as will Blake Webb, Izzac Delaporte, Lachlan Dellar and Jackson Derrick.

Make sure you are trackside this Saturday night at Geraldton City Speedway as the JSRA come roaring into town for Round 3 of their Country Super Series, with gates opening at 3pm and Racing from 6pm.

Official Nominations:
New Stars:
W4 Emma Ahearn
W11 Cjay Flavel
W16 Alicia Short
W17 Travis Strelley
W18 Jade McKeagg
W26 Jasmine Arnold
W52 Bradley Chant
W78 Montana Pack
W85 Michelle Martin
W95 Kayne Dellar
W98 Jhy Pack

Top Stars:
W7 Alex Swift
W8 Brody Day
W9 Mitchell Baker
W13 Blake Fletcher
W19 Bradley Short
W21 Jack Dalton
W22 Luke Malcolm
W23 Dylan Parkes
W26 Rory Elsum-Beaumont
W27 Jackson Derrick
W42 Nui Andrews
W47 Rohan Thomas
W48 Brock Reid
W63 Bryden Southwell
W66 Seth Hinsey
W67 Nikita Donohoe
W74 Jorj Park
W86 Ahryn Curtin
W88 Izzac Delaporte
W108 Blake Webb
W119 Joshua Ahearn
W195 Lachlan Dellar
W343 Tanika Webb

Media Release Courtesy of Travis Southwell