Juniors Deliver in Moora

JSRA COUNTRY SUPER SERIES - R5Round 5 of the JSRA Country Super Series held at Moora Speedway last night has seen some of the best Junior Sedan racing you will see throughout the country. The True Value Hardware, Moora sponsored event attracted thirteen New Stars and twenty Top Stars, which alone set the scene for a great night.

Geraldton racer, Rory Elsum-Beaumont started the New Star night off in the best possible fashion, recording the first victory of the night. Luke Malcolm, who was undefeated at the Perth Motorplex on Friday finished strong and closed the gap between himself and the leader, while Bryden Southwell charged through the field to finish third.

Bryden Southwell and Luke Malcolm would battle for positions for the rest of the night, with Southwell getting the upper hand of Malcolm to win heat two. Brother and sister duo of Montana and Jhy Pack returned to the track and started to make their mark on the competition.

Local racers, Alec, Taj and Connor Vanzetti also made their mark on the competition, charging towards the front in each race. Luke Malcolm would make a fantastic pass to get passed Bryden Southwell in the concluding stages of the race to record the win by the smallest of margins.

When it came to the night’s final, Southwell and Malcolm soon made their way to the front of the field, as Rory Elsum-Beaumont fell back a number of positions. Montana and Jhy Pack continued to get quicker and quicker and started to catch the leading duo. Alec Vanzetti had a drama early on in the race and fell back through the field.

The yellow lights would soon come on for a spun car, as the field was lined up for a restart. This would be short lived, as another car spun and the yellow lights would come on yet again.

In the concluding stages of the race, Luke Malcolm continued to lead from Bryden Southwell, Jhy and Montana Pack, as Alec Vanzetti moved his way through the field and now started to put up a charge to the leaders. Vanzetti would soon find a way past Jhy and Montana Pack and would cross the line to finish third behind race winner Luke Malcolm and Bryden Southwell.

Offical Results:
New Star Junior Sedan Feature: 1. W22 Luke Malcolm, 2. W63 Bryden Southwell, 3. W120 Alec Vanzetti, 4. W98 Jhy Pack, 5. W121 Taj Vanzetti, 6. W2 Dean Schofield, 7. W122 Connor Vanzetti, 8. W66 Possum Lawrence, 9. W8 Brody Day DNF: W26 Jasmine Arnold, W78 Montana Pack DSQ: W6 Rory Elsum-Beaumont

With a quality field of Top Star Junior Sedans nominated, the racing was of the highest standard. Local Moora racer Jessica Staines started the night off with a commanding victory over Jake Avins and Seth Hinsey. Jorj Park would take the win in the second heat of the night ahead of a very quick Jackson Derrick who debuted a new car and Morawa driver Peter Katona.

The third heat of the night would see a strong contingent of lady drivers taking to the track, with Stefani Ameduri working her way to the front to win the heat ahead of Albany’s Brooke Watson and Corey Ameduri. Jorj Park would win his second heat of the night in heat four ahead of a very quick Jake Avins and Ashley Baker.

Jake Avins and Jorj Park would be victorious in the final heats of the night, which would earn them a front row starting position for the 20 lap feature to come.

With 20 laps ahead of the field of 20 cars, Jorj Park and Jake Avins raced side by side for the first lap, before Avins could break free. This would be short lived as Jorj Park returned serve and took the lead from Avins. Further back in the field, there were numerous cars battling for minor positions, including Rahni Musarra who had to charge from the rear of the field.

The race soon came to a stop with Tylar Main stopping on the back straight. He would ultimately retire from the event at this point with a flat tyre. When the race got back underway, the battle out in front resumed, as Ashley Baker started to apply the pressure in third position.

Stefani Ameduri and Jackson Derrick soon made their way through the field and battled it out for the minor positions in their Hyundai Excels. With Jake Avins now leading, he started to extend his lead before a car spun in front of him, leaving our leading with no where to go.

Avins would lead the field away at the restart, though Jorj Park would not give up from this point. At this point, the drivers at the back had a coming together, which sent cars all over the track and would see Jackson Derrick retire from the event with serious damage to his car. Jorj Park was trying hard to make some ground on the leaders, when he span in front of the field with just two laps remaining.

With one lap to go, Stefani Ameduri would not be denied, closing the gap between herself and leader, Jake Avins. As the field came towards the finish line, Jake Avins would defeat Stefani Ameduri by the smallest of margins ahead of a gallant Stefani Ameduri and Peter Katona.

Once again, the JSRA extends a great thank you to Peter from True Value Hardware, Moora for his support of this Round of the JSRA Country Super Series.

Attention now turns to the 2017 edition of the Australasian Championships, which will see six drivers and their families head to New Zealand on Thursday to compete in the ultra popular Ministock category. We wish our drivers all the best of luck and will ensure everyone is kept up to date via our JSRA Facebook page.

The next round of the JSRA Country Super Series will be on March 11th at Quit Collie Speedway, a popular venue for many Junior Sedan racers in WA. Be sure to nominate via the nominations page on the JSRA website jsrawa.com

Official Results:
Top Star Junior Sedan Feature: 1. W11 Jake Avins, 2. W83 Stefani Ameduri, 3. W06 Peter Katona, 4. W10 Ashley Baker, 5. W94 Jess Staines, 6. W183 Corey Ameduri, 7. W21 Jack Dalton, 8. W108 Blake Webb, 9. W66 Seth Hinsey, 10. W74 Jorj Park, 11. W9 Isaac Arnold, 12. W343 Tanika Webb, 13. W12 Rahni Musarra, 14. W95 Izak Davies, 15. W37 Brooke Watson, 16. W33 Ebony Does, 17. W5 Bronty Fraser, 18. W91 Mitchell Baker DNF: W17 Tylar Main, W27 Jackson Derrick

The JSRA must thank our valued sponsors of the 2016/2017 Season for their support of Junior Sedan Racing in WA:
Hamon Tyre and Exhaust Centre (HTEC)
Whale Plumbing
Callcott and Downey
Hydroblasting Kalgoorlie
Eyerite Signs
True Value Hardware, Moora
Cranecorp Australia
Ultra Tune Malaga
Torque Wear Australia
BK Signs
Sean McManus Web Development
Ellement Produce

New Stars: 2nd Bryden Southwell, 1st Luke Malcolm, 3rd Alec Vanzetti
New Stars: 2nd Bryden Southwell, 1st Luke Malcolm, 3rd Alec Vanzetti


Top Stars: 3rd Peter Katona, 1st Jake Avins, 2nd Stefani Ameduri (absent)
Top Stars: 3rd Peter Katona, 1st Jake Avins, 2nd Stefani Ameduri (absent)


Start a Conversation

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *