Dylan Parkes Wins a Thriller

jsra-logo-transKalgoorlie racer, Dylan Parkes has won a thrilling Round 2 of the JSRA Country Super Series on home turf at Kalgoorlie International Speedway on Saturday evening.

The event, which was supported by Allen and Michelle Potts of Hydroblasting Kalgoorlie attracted two good fields of Junior Sedans, as the series returned to the Goldfields for another season.

Prior to the racing getting underway, a tribute to the late Anita Board who sadly lost her life in a Drag Racing accident was held, including a minute silence and a release of pink and purple balloons. Jasmine Arnold also paid tribute to Anita, with her right hand side panel in the “Pony Power” colours that Anita ran on her dragster. The JSRA would like to thank Kalgoorlie International Speedway for their organisation of this tribute, as well as all the junior drivers and families for taking part in a special event.

When the racing got underway, hometown heroes Lachlan Dellar and Dylan Parkes would claim the opening Top Star Junior Sedan heat races, before Blake Webb and Bryden Southwell would taste success in the second round of heats. Izzac Delaporte would narrowly defeat Luke Malcolm in their last heat of the night, while Blake Webb would be the only driver to win on two separate occasions.

Blake Webb and Bryden Southwell would start the twenty-lap final from the front row, with Webb getting the upper hand away from the line. An angry pack of drivers would race three and four wide throughout the first lap, with many positions changing as they exited the final corner for the first time. Luke Malcolm and Lachlan Dellar’s race would be over at this point as they retired to the infield.

Bryden Southwell who was having the night of his life would soon move through from third position to take the race lead and would create a handy buffer ahead of his closest rivals, who continued to battle hard for the minor positions. Jackson Derrick who started towards the tail end of the field also started to move through the field, battling it out with Nui Andrews and Jorj Park.

At the half way point, the yellow lights would come on after the race leader made contact with a lapped car. The race quickly got back underway, as Jackson Derrick still tried to get past Nui Andrews. Dylan Parkes now started to make his charge to the front of the field, as he sat in third position behind Bryden Southwell and Blake Webb.

After another stoppage, Bryden Southwell continued in the race lead, as Dylan Parkes now moved into position two. Izzac Delaporte started to loom large behind Blake Webb for third and fourth, as Dylan Parkes was now within striking distance of the race lead. With the white flag now on display, Dylan Parkes had one more opportunity to take the win and with one corner to go he timed his move to perfection to defeat Bryden Southwell by seven hundredths of a second. Blake Webb would hold on for position three ahead of Izzac Delaporte and Jackson Derrick who rounded out the top five.

A field of seven New Star Junior Sedans were also on hand and produced some fantastic racing, with Bunbury driver Brandon Buzsan recording the first two heat race victories comfortably. Kalgoorlie’s Kayne Dellar would take the last qualifying heat, before the fifteen lap final.

Dellar would make a great jump in the final and would lead comfortably in the initial part of the race, as Buzsan lost a lot of ground and had to work hard to get passed Jhy Pack for second. Behind them, the battle for the minor places between Montana Pack and Chloe Dellar was fierce, jostling for positions on a number of laps.

After a couple of restarts, Kayne Dellar would prove too strong once again to take out Round 2 of the JSRA Country Super Series ahead of Brandon Buzsan and Jhy Pack.

Official Results:
New Star Junior Sedan Final: 1. W95 Kayne Dellar, 2. W198 Brandon Buzsan, 3. W98 Jhy Pack, 4. W78 Montana Pack, 5. W295 Chloe Dellar, 6. W44 Mikayla Woods DNF: W26 Jasmine Arnold

Top Star Junior Sedan Final: 1. W23 Dylan Parkes, 2. W63 Bryden Southwell, 3. W108 Blake Webb, 4. W88 Izzac Delaporte, 5. W27 Jackson Derrick, 6. W18 Hayden Mortimer, 7. W74 Jorj Park, 8. W13 Blake Fletcher, 9. W67 Nikita Donohoe, 10. W5 Bronty Fraser DNF: W22 Luke Malcolm, W195 Lachlan Dellar, W8 Brody Day, W343 Tanika Webb, W42 Nui Andrews

If you would like to relive the Junior Sedan finals, head to the Kalgoorlie International Speedway Facebook Page for live recorded videos.

Attention now turns to Round 3 of the JSRA Country Super Series, which heads to Geraldton City Speedway on Saturday December 16th. Drivers are reminded to get your nominations in via the JSRA website.

New Star Junior Sedans - 3rd Jhy Pack, 1st Kayne Dellar, 2nd Brandon Buzsan
New Star Junior Sedans – 3rd Jhy Pack, 1st Kayne Dellar, 2nd Brandon Buzsan. Picture by Blake Jones Photography


Top Star Junior Sedans - 3rd Blake Webb, 1st Dylan Parkes, 2nd Bryden Southwell
Top Star Junior Sedans – 3rd Blake Webb, 1st Dylan Parkes, 2nd Bryden Southwell. Photo by Blake Jones Photography


Bryden Southwell and Dylan Parkes battle it out for glory at Kalgoorlie International Speedway
Bryden Southwell and Dylan Parkes battle it out for glory at Kalgoorlie International Speedway. Photo by Blake Jones Photography


Start a Conversation

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *